The Lamb Compels You...

Lately, I've been enjoying the new Cult of the Lamb update. It scratches that itch for progression in games that makes me want to play forever.

I originally picked up the game during the Steam Winter sale, and I was immediately hooked. For those who are unfamiliar, Cult of the Lamb is half base builder and half rogue-lite dungeon crawler. As you grow your cult, your powers increase within the dungeon creating a compelling gameplay loop. It's easy to achieve a small goal for yourself even within 15 minutes of gameplay. I always find myself saying oh, I'm almost to the next goal, just 15 minutes more. Then suddenly I've played for 3 hours!

I started playing again a few days ago to check out the new update, and so far, the new mechanics are fantastic and intuitive additions to the game. My main complaint during my original playthrough is that the game lacks things to do once you have maxed out your cult. The dungeon crawling and bosses were difficult to me, and due to the amount of times I had to retry the levels, my cult was maxed out long before I beat the final boss. I am now interacting with my followers more than ever, trying to level them up high enough to be a worthy sacrifice for Baal and Aym. I love that the old bishops can become members of the cult now, too. I appreciate that the devs even gave them their own little quests, making each bishops stand out from the rest of the cult. My only wish is that they had the immortal trait, like The One Who Waits.

By far my favorite part of the update was the inclusions of charged attacks. This completely changes the gameplay loop of dungeon crawling for the better. It is satisfying to hit multiple enemies in a row, and I can progress through the dungeons more quickly. This is appreciated because there are a lot of dungeons to crawl with the new post-game content!

Overall, Cult of the Lamb is a fun game that I would recommend to anyone who enjoys a simple, cute dungeon crawler with some demonic base building on the side. Go forth and become a cult leader!

Current Stats

Mood:Joyful

Listening to:Cult of the Lamb OSt - it's great!

Watching: One Piece

Playing: Cult of the Lamb