There are only a few more days until Halloween! I’m feeling pretty excited about it. As I detailed in my last entry, I have been making an effort to celebrate the spooky season as a way of staying in the moment. I’m happy to report that I have followed through with this and that I am doing much better. Still no luck on the job prospects though, but I won’t give up!

I went to the local pumpkin patch with family and picked out a couple of pumpkins. I really like the look of white pumpkins, and I tend to pick those when going with a group. They stand out among the orange ones and they’re so ghostly. I carved them way too early though! Normally, it wouldn’t be too big of a deal to carve a couple of weeks early. Unfortunately, it’s been hot and damp even in my neck of the woods, so pumpkins grew mold almost immediately! Oh well, now I know better for next year.

bijou from Hamtaro awkward sweat

A pumpkin in the process of being carved

While I was preparing to carve, I drew on the pumpkin with a marker and poked holes where I wanted to carve. This effect is striking! I almost wanted to leave it like that for a while—and maybe I should have given how fast it grew mold.

Two carved jack-o-lanterns. One has a scary face and one has a happy face. The scary one is larger than the cute one.

Here is how they came out! I was pleased with myself. Sadly, I did not have candles on hand and didn’t acquire any until they were already rotted.

A jack-o-lantern with a owl carved into it

Here is the pumpkin that my partner carved from a pattern. It’s an owl if you can’t tell! I helped him clean up the shapes. I am not a fan of the feathers though lol.

A tray of seasoned, roasted pumpkin seeds

The seeds made for a delicious snack. I tried making them differently than how my mom made them growing up. I washed them like normal but instead of putting them right on the baking sheet, I covered them in oil and seasoned them in a bowl. I added salt, pepper, cumin, and a little bit of chipotle chili seasoning. They were delicious! I had never tried pumpkin seeds with anything except for salt before this.

Anyway, that’s my little Halloween update! I am going to a party today dressed as Chopper from One Piece. It’s been healing to enjoy the season and participate in spooky fun. I’m feeling much better. Happy early Halloween! 🎃